Winners of European Sustainable Mobility Awards

CultureEnergeticsEventsNewsSmart CitiesSport

This week, at the European Sustainable Mobility Awards, the following cities got awarded: Bilbao won the EU Road Safety Award for moving their limit speeds to 30km/h in urban area, German city Moenchengladbach won the European Mobility Week Award for larger municipalities, while Lilienthal won it in the category of smaller municipalities. The Greater Grenoble Area Mobility Authority won the ninth Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning.

Bilbao presented its scheme to reduce speeds on streets that started in June 2018. The jury was impressed by the city’s communication and awareness-raising activities to promote road safety through their scheme that started in 2018 with the goal of reducing speed.

Moenchengladbach organised several information and awareness-raising initiatives on sustainable mobility and their creative approach got recognized by the jury.

Lilienthal’s initiatives such as walking and cycling tours, information sessions with senior citizens and trash collection event got approval from the jury and therefore, the winning title is well deserved.

Matthew Baldwin, European Commission’s Directorate-General for Transport and Mobility and Adina Vălean, European Commissioner for Transport, presented the awards.

Commissioner Vălean said: “I would like to extend my congratulations to all finalists and winners. Your inspiring achievements really show how cities and towns across Europe can improve people’s wellbeing by shifting towards cleaner, greener and more sustainable travel options for all”.  Photo Jose Vidal Velar/Unsplash