Seville to host Laureus World Sports Awards 2021


On May 6, City of Seville will be the host of the twenty-second edition of Laureus World Sports Awards, the most prestigious sports awards, this time as a virtual event.

Mayor of Seville Juan Espadas said: “It is our pleasure to join Laureus at the Laureus World Sports Awards 2021, especially at a time like this. Now, with our desire to create a new goal for our future, and a new awareness of the challenges we face in the modern world, we can change the world for the better. Like Laureus, Seville supports the UN Sustainable Development Goals and once again we can be an engine for a world change. We recognize the ability of humanity to constantly develop exploration, science, arts and sport. That is why we are so happy to be partners with Laureus at this important moment.”

According to the organization, Laureus chose Seville and Andalusia for this ceremony to capture the essence of Spanish culture and passion. For its astonishing beauty and remarkable history that makes Seville a unique city with three World Heritage monuments, with an important projection linked to innovation and sustainability, with equal participation and commitment to sport and social integration, reports Sunday Vision

This year, Laureus will focus on “sport for good” and will provide additional awards for those who have worked tirelessly to combat the Coronavirus pandemic.

Since its start, Laureus has improved the lives of more than six million children and youth, and now supports more than 250 community sports programs around the world by making the visionary words of its first sponsor Nelson Mandela come true: “Sport has the power to change the world“.

Among the many great names that have had a year to remember and who will compete for the awards are Rafael Nadal, Lewis Hamilton, LeBron James, Robert Lewandowski, Naomi Osaka, Federica Brignoni, Bayern Munich, Liverpool, Los Angeles Lakers and Mercedes. AMG Petronas Formula One, Ansu Fati, Joan Mir, Tadej Pogacar, Dominic Thiem, Kento Momota, Alex Smith, and Mikaela Shiffrin.

The Laureus World Sports Awards winners are chosen by a distinguished sports jury: 69 members of the Laureus World Sports Academy, living sports legends who honor today’s best athletes. Photo credit